“It’s the same thing.”

Standard

I was running on the National Mall with my running buddy a few weeks ago, and we were talking about how so many of our friends were pregnant (this friend was among them up until last week). Two friends had announced their pregnancies a week or so prior to this run, and we were commenting, as friends do, about how thrilled we were for these ladies and how excited we were to meet the little ones.

Then I shared that Mike and I had begun the paperwork for our second adoption, so soon we would be “paperwork pregnant.”

And my friend exclaimed, “It’s the same thing!”

I love our community. I love that our friends will be as excited for us about our paperwork “pregnancy” as they are every time any of our friends announces a biological pregnancy. And I’m so grateful for the confidence I have that these friends will welcome our second child with as wide-open arms as they welcome all of our friends’ biological children.

About savoringeverymoment

I'm a grammar geek (I'm firmly on the side of the serial comma), the wife of a very funny guy (he still makes me laugh after 13 years being together), and the mama of an adorable little boy (his dimples could turn a bouncer's legs to jelly). I live in a fantastic city and attend a church that encourages me to use my gifts and talents.

Leave a Reply

