Letter from a sponsored child

Standard

This month, I’m joining the Compassion Blogger Network to help promote child sponsorship and encourage my friends and family to sponsor a child. If you’ve ever considered sponsoring a child, now’s the time to do it!

This week’s assignment is, by far, the toughest yet for me (which is why I’ve waited until the last possible day to write it): Write a letter from the perspective of a sponsored child, a letter that will inspire people to sponsor a child. That’s a tall order, but as of this evening, Compassion only needs 76 more sponsors to meet its goal of recruiting sponsors for 3,108 children between Sept. 1 and Sept. 30. That’s enough to motivate me to do some creative writing, so here goes my latest effort to encourage you check out the sponsorship page and put a smile on one of those adorable faces.

Thank you for your letter. Thank you also for my birthday gift. I used the money to buy a new jacket. It’s very soft. I started school again. I’m now in eighth grade. I did well on my exams at the end of last year. Thank you for praying for me. I do my best to study very hard. I enjoy school. My favorite subject is maths. I like the Bible verse you sent me about running the race God has for me. School does feel like a race sometimes. When I read your letters, I want to do my best. I want to be a doctor so I can help people who are sick. How is your family? I pray you are all in good health. I thank God that I am healthy. Because of the Compassion program, I get good food and can visit a doctor when I am sick.  

Please pray for my mother. She works hard and is very sad all the time. My father has been unable to get work for many months. They say to tell you “thank you” because without your sponsorship, they would not be able to send me to school. 

I’m going to be part of the choir at my church. Do you like to sing? What is your favorite song? I am learning Amazing Grace. Do you like that song?

In the name of Christ, 

Beatrice

 

 

About savoringeverymoment

I'm a grammar geek (I'm firmly on the side of the serial comma), the wife of a very funny guy (he still makes me laugh after 13 years being together), and the mama of an adorable little boy (his dimples could turn a bouncer's legs to jelly). I live in a fantastic city and attend a church that encourages me to use my gifts and talents.

Leave a Reply

