Pinning: I’m Doing It for My Kids!

Standard

This month, I’m joining the Compassion Blogger Network to help promote child sponsorship and encourage my friends and family to sponsor a child. If you’ve ever considered sponsoring a child, now’s the time to do it!

I’ve been holding back on joining the pinterest trend. Friends are shocked I haven’t jumped in yet, especially since I’ve embraced so many other social media sites. I love cooking and good food, right? Pinterest is great for finding new recipes! One friend frequently blogs about the tasty dinners and desserts she makes from pinterest recipes. She’s always making my mouth water. I’m impressed she actually makes what she pins. I fear I’d find all these great ideas—and never actually do anything with them. To make sure she does indeed try the ideas she finds, another friend has christened the third day of the week “Pinterest Tuesdays” and dedicates this day to creating one craft idea she’s pinned over the weekend. She pointed out that I’m always looking for things to do with Teddy, and Pinterest is full of fun activity ideas for kids. I’d definitely be motivated to put those ideas to use—and I’d have a chance most days.

Thus far, those reasons haven’t been enough to lure me onto this community corkboard, but now I have another incentive to get lost on the Internet’s neverending rabbit trail:

Compassion is having a pinterest contest

I love Compassion and I want to see more children sponsored, and creating a board to show off my sponsored kids is an opportunity to do that.

The contest is super easy:

  1. Create a board titled “My Sponsored Child”
  2. On the board you create, pin the image in this post; a photo of you and your sponsored child or a photo of you with a letter from your sponsored child or a photo of you holding a photo of your sponsored child; and anything else that is relevant to your sponsored child or Compassion
  3. Once you’ve created your board, share the URL via the form at the end of this blog post

The contest runs through Sept. 23; winners will receive gift money for their sponsored children. And what could be better motivation than that?

So I’m inAre you?

About savoringeverymoment

I'm a grammar geek (I'm firmly on the side of the serial comma), the wife of a very funny guy (he still makes me laugh after 13 years being together), and the mama of an adorable little boy (his dimples could turn a bouncer's legs to jelly). I live in a fantastic city and attend a church that encourages me to use my gifts and talents.

Leave a Reply

