Waffles and cake pops

Standard

I started the day with a delicious waffle topped with real maple syrup and a generous amount of whipped butter.

I ended the day with a Starbucks cake pop.

And I enjoyed every bite of both.

Both were delicious, of course, but they also represented something amazing: my first Mother’s Day. The waffle was one way Mike celebrated this momentous event, and the cake pop was my church’s token of appreciation for all its mothers. (I have to admit, my eyes teared up a bit when I accepted the box containing the cake-y treat.)

In between, I received a card signed by both my guys (ok, Teddy’s is more scribble than signature…) and a Mommy and Me frame with a picture of me and Teddy in a tulip garden, a gorgeous necklace set from my mother (which I’m excited to wear for date night next weekend), a very sweet e-card from my in-laws, and Mother’s Day wishes from friends and family.

I felt so special. And so blessed to be Mama to the precious little boy who conferred the title on me.

The sermon at church this evening was about how sometimes life can go off script, and it’s important to stop looking longingly at the old script and instead embrace the new one and ask with anticipation, What can God do now?

I definitely know what it’s like to find out life is not going to proceed as planned. I was nodding and murmuring in agreement for much of the message (trying to keep it quiet because Teddy was asleep on my lap—precious!).

But by the grace of God, I also know what it’s like to come out the other side and fully embrace the new script.

But then, who wouldn’t, when this little guy’s part of the new script?

About savoringeverymoment

I'm a grammar geek (I'm firmly on the side of the serial comma), the wife of a very funny guy (he still makes me laugh after 13 years being together), and the mama of an adorable little boy (his dimples could turn a bouncer's legs to jelly). I live in a fantastic city and attend a church that encourages me to use my gifts and talents.

One response »

  1. I know this sounds so trite. But don’t we worship a God of major surprises? We never would have anticipated God bringing such a precious little boy into our family and all the blessings we have experienced since then. Isn’t God good!

Leave a Reply

