Being grateful for the rain

Standard

Last weekend, one of our pastors preached a sermon that resonated with me. He spoke about our tendency to pray for a metaphorical harvest but pray against the rains that will bring that harvest. It’s a similar concept to one our senior pastor frequently talks about: We all want to see miracles in our lives, but we don’t want to be in situations that necessitate them. So so true.

Mike and I had a lot of rain in our lives before we got our handsome little miracle. We also invested a lot of energy praying against that rain. I wish I could say we got to a point when we accepted the rain as an inevitable, necessary part of the journey, when we became content with God’s timing. But we didn’t. We lamented the rain. We prayed against it. We wanted nothing more than for the rain to go away and the sun to come out, for God to fix our problem.

But he didn’t. He was right there with us while we struggled (although it didn’t always feel like it; thankfully we have friends who prayed for us when we couldn’t), but he didn’t fix anything. At least, not how we expected him to. We wanted him to fix us. Fix the plumbing. Make everything work the way it was supposed to. Instead, he redirected usHe guided us down a path to a different destination than what we had planned. But we experienced a lot of storms along the way.

The thing I sometimes have a hard time wrapping my head around is that the rain was necessary to lead us to Teddy. Without the storms, without the pain, without the frustration, we don’t end up with the most adorable little boy who has stolen our hearts. So I find myself in the crazy position of feeling grateful for all that mess that got us here.

I just pray I have faith the next time a storm hits to find joy in it, remembering that sometimes we have to pray through, not against, knowing God has an amazing rainbow in store.

About savoringeverymoment

I'm a grammar geek (I'm firmly on the side of the serial comma), the wife of a very funny guy (he still makes me laugh after 13 years being together), and the mama of an adorable little boy (his dimples could turn a bouncer's legs to jelly). I live in a fantastic city and attend a church that encourages me to use my gifts and talents.

2 responses »

  1. It reminds me of my favorite quote “Life is not about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain.” I have had to apply this quote to my life lately also. Your post really reminded me to continue looking at the good instead of just weathering the storm.

Leave a Reply

