To be wanted

Standard

Guest post from Teddy’s dad.

I want to be wanted. I need to be wanted. Yes, love and respect are important, but for me there is nothing worse than going to an event and having no one care that I’m there.

From the moment we picked up Teddy, I wanted to be with him. I wanted to hold him as he “jumped” on my chest. I wanted to cradle him as he slept. I wanted to watch him discover the world. Yet I never felt he wanted me. (I don’t fault him; he’s only 4 months old. He hardly knows who people are.)

A few nights ago, Teddy proved me wrong. I got home around 6:20 and Sara had put him down for a nap that he was refusing to take. He needed it, but like me, he refuses to sleep in case he misses something.
So rather than listen to him cry, I suggested that we get him up and that I would play with him. Sara indulged my selfish desire and got him up to bring him to me. The look in his eye and his body language was simply, “I’ve had enough of you lady.” Both Sara and I saw it and felt it.

Then Teddy saw me. A smile crossed his face and his arms stopped flailing. He stopped fussing and stared at me intently. I took him from Sara and my tired boy was a new man. Even before I had a good hold on him, he started “rough housing” with me by grabbing at my face and mouth. I laid down on couch and put him on my stomach. He looked up at me multiple times and just smiled. He rolled off my stomach to get stuck between me and the back of the couch. He just stayed there looking at me and smiling. He started to “talk” and reach for my face again.

I couldn’t believe this guy. Mr. Grouchy was transformed into Mr. Playful when Dad showed up. For a good 45 minutes, we “wrestled” and played airplane. He crawled up my chest to bury his slobbery mouth in my neck and make me giggle. He used my hands to pull himself upright and then “jumped” on my chest until I had to stop him (there’s only so much repeated pressure these ribs can take).

All the while, he just looked me in the eyes and smiled.

Teddy wanted his Daddy and his Daddy loved being wanted.

About savoringeverymoment

I'm a grammar geek (I'm firmly on the side of the serial comma), the wife of a very funny guy (he still makes me laugh after 13 years being together), and the mama of an adorable little boy (his dimples could turn a bouncer's legs to jelly). I live in a fantastic city and attend a church that encourages me to use my gifts and talents.

One response »

Leave a Reply

